Assessed & Accredited by the NAAC with A Grade [CGPA=3.02]

Participative Management in Durgapur Government College

Practices of decentralization and participative management


The institution has a mechanism of providing operational autonomy to various functionaries in order to ensure a decentralized governance system.

1.      Principal Level

Principal is the member secretary of the governing body and chairperson of the IQAC. The Principal in consultation with the Teachers’ Council nominates different committees for planning and implementation of different academic, student administration and related policies. All academic and operational policies are based on the unanimous decision of the governing body, the IQAC and the teachers' council.


2.      Faculty level

Faculty members are given representation in various committees/cells nominated by the Teachers' council, in the Governing body, in the IQAC and other committees. Every year, the composition of different committees is changed to ensure a uniform exposure of duties for academic and professional development of  faculty members. Following are the different sub-committees which have been nominated by Teachers’ Council (2018-19):

·         Admission Sub-committee

·         Kazi Nazrul University examination sub-committees (Separately for Sem I to Sem VI)

·         Internal tabulation sub-committee

·         Routine sub-committee

·         UGC PFMS & Seminar Proposal sub-committee

·         Library sub-committee

·         Student Union Election sub-Committee

·         Sub-Committee for West Bengal Health Scheme

·         Student disciplinary sub-committee

·         Sub-committee for games and sports

·         Canteen sub-committee

·         Journal and publication Sub- committee

·         Cultural sub-committee

·         Gymnasium sub-committee


Following committees are constituted accordance to government guidelines:

·         RUSA-PFMS unit

·         Internal Complaints Committee

·         Counselling and Career Guidance and Placement Unit

·         Grievance Redressal Cell

·         Service Book Opening & Updating Committee

·         Website committee

·         Tax Related Sub- Committee

·         Anti Ragging Committee

·         Quarter Sub-committee

·         Press & Media Sub- Committee


3.      Student level

General Secretary of the students' union is the member of governing body. Students are empowered to play important role in different activities. Functioning of different secretaries of students' union (listed below) further reinforces decentralization.

·         cultural secretary

·         boys' common room secretary

·         girls' common room secretary

·         student welfare and social service secretary

·         canteen secretary

·         computer in charge


4.      Non-teaching staff level

Non-teaching staff are represented in the governing body and the IQAC. Suggestions of non-teaching staff are considered while framing policies or taking important decisions.


Participative management

The institution promotes the culture of participative management at the strategic level, functional level and operational level.

·         Strategic level: The Principal, governing body, Teachers' council and the IQAC are involved in defining policies & procedures, framing guidelines and rules & regulations pertaining to admission, examination, discipline, grievance, support services, finance etc

·         Functional level: Faculty members share knowledge among themselves, students and staff members while working for a committee. Principal and faculty members are involved in joint research and have published papers

·         Operational level: The Principal interacts with government and external agencies & faculty members maintain interactions with the concerned departments of affiliating university. Students and office staff join hands with the Principal and faculty for the execution of different academic, administrative, extension related, co- and extracurricular activities.