Assessed & Accredited by the NAAC with A Grade [CGPA=3.02]


Durgapur Government College is the oldest government college in the entire region of Bardhaman, Bankura, Birbhum and Purulia. It continues to be the only public-funded institution in Durgapur city. The first academic session of the college, 1970-1971, commenced with B.A. Honours courses in 06 subjects: English, Economics, History, Political Science, Philosophy and Sanskrit. Bengali was offered as a subject in the B.A Pass course.

The College was recognised as an affiliated college of The University of Burdwan in 1970. The institution remained affiliated to the B.U. till June 2015. In July 2015, the college was brought under the fold of the newly set up Kazi Nazrul University, Asansol.

The admission in the 2016-2017 academic session took place following the new guidelines of KNU: introduction and implementation of the ‘Choice Based Credit System’ (CBCS).The courses offered are now known as Honours and Programme in B.A., B.Com, and B.Sc. in 14 subjects: Bengali, Botany, Chemistry, Commerce, Economics, English, Geology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Sanskrit and Zoology. The Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) had been operating from this college since 2007.

The teaching faculty is from the West Bengal Educational Service (WBES) and the West Bengal Senior Educational Service (WBSES) cadre. The College is keen in devising student-friendly teaching methods like use of technology, holding classes in the open, open-house discussions, and interactive sessions with in-house faculty or with external experts. These initiatives have already shown positive signs.

Two NSS units operate from the college, which were established in 1970 and 2008. The subject Physical Education is offered as an Elective subject. Co-curricular, extra-curricular activities provide the oxygen needed to keep things going in a healthy manner and to sensitise and motivate all stakeholders to fulfil the objectives of the college.